In this article, I’m gonna talk about how to hide someone on Snap. Basically how to block someone on Snapchat without blocking and other alternatives on hiding someone on Snapchat.
The social media app that’s taken the world by storm, Snapchat is quickly becoming a powerful marketing tool. With more than 100 million daily active users and a total of 400 million snaps every day, brands are taking notice.
Snapchat is unlike any other social media platform. It’s unique in that it only allows users to share images or videos (referred to as “snaps”) that expire after they’re viewed. Users can set their snaps to self-destruct from one to ten seconds after being opened. Snaps can be sent between individuals, but they can also be posted publicly as stories for all of their followers to see at once.
In addition to text, images, and videos, Snapchat users have access to a range of emojis and filters that can be added to their snaps. A few simple swipes allow users to add location stickers, time stamps, drawings, doodles, and captions.
Enough with the introductions, let’s come to the point of the article – how to hide someone on Snapchat.
Why would you want to hide someone on Snapchat?
As said, Snapchat is one of the most popular social media apps around. And just like every other social media app, it has its own rules and etiquette. But, sometimes, you need to make a few changes to your contacts list.
Let’s say someone you don’t really like added you as a friend on Snapchat. Or maybe it was an ex-boyfriend or ex-girlfriend who you rather not have any contact with anymore. Whatever the reason may be, you want to hide or block them on Snapchat.
There are a lot of reasons you might want to block someone on Snapchat and not all of them have to do with unwanted romantic attention. Perhaps you’ve got friends who over-share, or perhaps you find your partner’s colleagues more annoying than their actual partner.
Everyone has that one friend who is constantly sending snaps (we are talking about 50+ in a row) asking if they look good in an outfit, or if they should get a haircut. Sure, it’s always nice to give feedback but sometimes you just want to watch a story without being interrupted by a notification.
Do people find out when you block them on Snapchat?
Once you block someone on Snapchat, they will not receive a notification that you’ve blocked them. However, they’ll likely notice that their messages to you are not being delivered. If the person is a frequent Snapchatter, this could be a big hint that you may have blocked them.
If your mutual friends have access to your Stories, your blocker may also see your Story on their Friends page as well. In other words, blocking someone doesn’t make you completely invisible to them on Snapchat.
You can also find out if your friend has blocked you by searching for their name on the app. If they have blocked you, the search results won’t show their name or profile. This is because blocking prevents users from seeing one another.
If you haven’t been able to find your friend’s name through a search, they may have changed it or deleted their account. In this case, try searching for a custom Snapchat URL that was created on the Snap Map. When you send someone a Snap, they can respond with their location in real-time. This URL allows others to find their location on the map and send them Snaps if they’re nearby.
If your friend’s location shows up when you search for a custom URL, they haven’t blocked you. They may have deleted the app or changed their settings so that only friends can view their location on the map.
How to hide someone on Snap without blocking
To hide someone on Snapchat without blocking them, you need to remove them from your My Friends list. Open the Snapchat app and tap the “yellow ghost” at the top of the camera screen. Select “My Friends.”
If you have a lot of friends it might take a minute for this screen to load. Find the person you want to hide on this list, and swipe left on their name until a red “Hide” option appears. Tap “Hide.”
You can still see that person’s story if they post it publicly, but their messages will no longer appear on your chat screen.
You can always unhide someone by going back to this screen and swiping right on their name until a green “Show” option appears. Tap “Show” to re-add them to your friends list.
You can also block someone by opening their profile and tapping the gear icon beside their username. Select Block to stop them from sending messages or viewing your story or snaps.
Wrapping it up: Now, you know how to hide someone on Snap. Should you face any issue following the steps in this post, comment below.